This blog will bring together news of the Indian Volley League from various media. It is not an official news site, for official news, please visit the following websites.
The Official Website of the IVL

Thursday, 26 May 2011

Chennai Spikers

News of the launch of the Chennai Spikers Volleyball Club in the Hindu

Monday amidst an ambience of gaiety and glamour, including a fashion show. It is among the six squads drawn from Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh and Puducherry, which are scheduled to participate in the first Indian Volleyball League (IVL) from May 29 at Bangalore
Based on the format of the successful IPL, this annual event of the Volleyball Federation of India (VFI) is programmed to catch the imagination of the public and prove profitable to the participating players.
Wishing the event and CSVC all success, the chief guest, P.W.C. Davidar, Managing Director, TN Salt Corporation, described the competition and its structure as “amazing.”
Earlier, Tamil Vendan, the Mentor of CSVC, outlined the factors that facilitated in the formation of the Club.
He explained the mission was to “play winning volleyball,” to win the hearts of the followers and give the game an image.
S. Vasudevan, Chairman and Managing Director, KAL Group of Companies, the owner of CSVC, said that the IVL was a dream come true and he was excited over the prospect of his team in the championship.
The co-sponsor, C. Sakthikumar, Director, Panimalar College of Engineering, announced that the CSVC would get Rs.15 lakhs if it won the event and Rs.7.5 lakhs if it finished as runner-up. He also clarified that the team would get a bonus of Rs.500 for the point margin, gained and lost.
Actor Srikanth presented the team's colours. Later the theme song of the squad was also released. K. Murugan, Secretary-General, Volleyball Federation of India, was felicitated along with other dignitaries.
The Chennai leg of the IVL is to be held at the JN Indoor Stadium from June 4.
The team: K.J. Kapil Dev, P. Sivabalan, Navjit Singh, Mandeep Singh, R. Kamaraj, S. Kanagaraj, K.G. Ragesh, Karthikeyan, V.K.Ansar, P. Rohit, Prabhakaran, and J. Nadarajan (captain). A. Venkatesan (head coach), P. Sundaram (assistant coach) and Jayakumar (manager).

No comments:

Post a Comment